The Electrician's Work bench

The mindless ramblings of a savage drunk with a screwdriver.

LED Cube

Posted by 0ldrunk on November 21, 2009

Just another limbo project I haven’t had the time to sit down and work on more but hope to soon maybe over Christmas.

I started building a 4x4x4 LED cube some time ago and now that I’ve set myself up a personal blog I can can continue to post my work. Right now the LEDs have been soldered into a cube and have only started to plan out the controller, most if not all LED cube projects I’ve seen online are Atmel/AVR based and any PICmicro controllers I’ve come across have been for small 3x3x3 cubes or disPIC(16bit?) chips or built for RBG LEDs. I’m just using solid colour LEDs for cost right now and I’m use to working with the 8bit PIC micros. I’m going with 18Fxxxx PIC chip for the brains and the one I’d like to use has built-in USB function so I can update the LED animations with a computer and have it open for future projects like a winamp visualization plugin someday , most likly I’ll never get that far but wishful thinking.

Leave a Reply

 
